First Friday

7364e8a2a883eb0f32b3281395bdf6ac_monkeycrochetcol-photo-by-free-crochet-clipart-images_605-394

Tonight is my little town’s art walk. Once every three months on the first Friday of the month downtown is filled with local artists of every make and style. The shops are open and usually host musicians or display different types of local handmade items. (Not to mention the ones that like to offer food and/or wine for those that want to have a little refreshment). I have met so many amazing people just by walking around and taking in the atmosphere.

Tonight several of our local authors are going to be displaying their books (and some even dabble in some other crafts that will be available to purchase as well). We will probably see one or more local bands performing out in the depot and there will be plenty of interesting sights to see.

My daughter usually comes with me but this time she is at a concert with friends so I will be on my own and have decided to try something different. I am not going to have a booth this time (though I am aiming for having one at the next art walk in June) but I will be sitting out in public with my hook and some yarn so I can people watch and just get to know the community a little better.

One of the most important parts of customer service is in fact the customer. If you know the types of things that customers are drawn to, either because they are pretty or practical, you are more likely to reach a larger audience. I will have a few finished items available with me but my goal is not to try to make sales, but rather to make friends and loyal customers for future purchases. I strive to be a better crafter and the only way to do that is to reach out and find out where I need to branch my craft tree.

If you are in the local area I hope you will seek me out, if not take the time to find out if your area has something similar. Reach out to local artists, remember when you buy something from a small artist you are not supporting just a business. You are helping that person learn, grow, and support their family in a small way.

Happy Friday everyone!

 

Clipart featured today can be found at <a href=”https://clipartfest.com/”>clipartfest.com</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

